Its façades and conical towers have become a UNESCO World Heritage site. Gaudi would be proud!

Add to my guide

Sagrada Familia

Up in the clouds.

The Sagrada Familia is the building that touches the sky above Barcelona. With its enormous conical, Modernist towers, this is the city’s symbol, and Catalonian architect, Antonio Gaudi’s most famous work. What most people don’t know, is that Gaudi took up a project that had already started in 1882, which was Neo-gothic in style. However, it is safe to say that he changed it so much, it is now considered entirely his own work. The initial idea was to build a traditional temple, whereas Gaudi’s masterpiece has a total of eighteen towers, twelve of which are dedicated to the Apostles, four to the Evangelists, and the remaining two to Mary and Jesus. Each tower differs in height, reflecting the religious status of each figure. As an example, the Jesus tower is 170 metres tall. The architect only lived to see one tower, but the monumental construction project continued long after his death. Today, the eight conical towers and façades dedicated to the Nativity, the Passion and the Glory, have been declared UNESCO World Heritage sites. Due to the large influx of tourists every year, we recommend booking your visit in advance.

Your customised guide

Add files to start to configure your guide

Book your flight to Barcelona
Consult prices and dates

10 tips to keep your hand baggage

Find out what type of packs are considered hand baggage and how to can change them so that they can go in the cabin with you during the flight.

Free download